In Council News by admin

Philadelphia, Feb. 12, 2015 City Council on Thursday issued the following statement on the Democratic National Committee’s selection of Philadelphia to host the Democratic National Convention in 2016:

“It has been far too long – 67 years – since the Democratic National Convention was last held in the nation’s original capital. The City Council of Philadelphia is pleased and proud to welcome the 2016 Democratic National Convention to the Cradle of Liberty.

“Whether our world-class art collections, award-winning restaurants, or innovative public spaces and parks, the City of Philadelphia has everything needed to guarantee a lively and memorable experience for conventioneers. Our historical sites, which include Independence Mall and our own City Hall, inspire awe for our wonderful democracy among visitors from every state and around the world.

“Winning the convention took a bipartisan and collaborative effort. We congratulate the Philadelphia 2016 Committee — led by former Governor Rendell, Congressman Brady, Mayor Nutter, Senator Casey, former Congresswoman Schwartz, and our own Councilwoman Marian Tasco — for making the case for our great city. Kevin Washo and his team, which laid the groundwork with trademark Philly hustle, deserve kudos as well.

“We are a city that is too often underestimated and that too often underestimates itself. To our restaurants, merchants, hospitality workers, subway conductors, public employees, and all others who make the City of Brotherly Love and Sisterly Affection run every day, we say: Get ready to show the world what Philly can do.”

Councilman Mark Squilla, 1st District

Councilman Kenyatta Johnson, 2nd District

Councilwoman Jannie Blackwell, 3rd District

Councilman Curtis Jones, Jr., 4th District

Council President Darrell L. Clarke, 5th District

Councilman Bobby Henon, 6th District

Councilwoman Maria Quiñones Sánchez, 7th District

Councilwoman Cindy Bass, 8th District

Councilwoman Marian Tasco, 9th District

Councilman Brian J. O’Neill, 10th District

Councilman At-Large W. Wilson Goode, Jr.

Councilwoman At-Large Bill Greenlee

Councilman At-Large Ed Neilson

Councilwoman At-Large Dennis O’Brien

Councilwoman At-Large Blondell Reynolds Brown

Councilman At-Large David Oh

Print Friendly, PDF & Email