Mission Statement

To identify archaic, superfluous, and confusing provisions in the Philadelphia Code and in departmental regulations; and to recommend revisions that streamline, clarify and enhance the City’s regulatory environment, for the purpose of accelerating the growth of well-paying jobs in Philadelphia while ensuring the safety and well-being of its residents.


On February 23, 2017, City Council authorized a resolution, introduced by Council President Darrell L. Clarke (5th District) and Councilman Derek S. Green (At Large) creating a Special Committee on Regulatory Review and Reform. In March 2017, Clarke named Councilman Green, Commerce Director Harold T. Epps, and the Chamber of Commerce for Greater Philadelphia President and CEO Rob Wonderling co-chairs of the Special Committee.  The remaining Special Committee members and  co-chairs were announced in May 2017.

The Special Committee will conduct a comprehensive review of the 2,016-page Philadelphia Code, identify outdated and confusing regulations, and recommend legislative and administrative remedies to enhance the City’s regulatory environment to benefit businesses and residents.


View video of the Special Committee announcement:

Harold T. Epps

Commerce Director,
City of Philadelphia

Derek S. Green, Esq.

City Councilman,
At Large

Rob Wonderling

President and CEO,
The Chamber of Commerce for Greater Philadelphia

Special Committee Members

Councilwoman Maria Quiñones Sánchez (7thDistrict), Chair, Council’s Committee on Licenses and Inspections
Councilman Kenyatta Johnson (2nd District), Chair, Council’s Committee on Legislative Oversight
Councilman Al Taubenberger (At Large), former President of the Greater Northeast Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce
Saleem Chapman, Policy and Advocacy Manager, Sustainable Business Network of Greater Philadelphia (SBN)

Subcommittee Co-Chairs

Saba Tedla, Owner, Booker’s Restaurant: Food & Hospitality Subcommittee Co-Chair
Luz Cardenas, Partner, Cardenas-Grant Communications: Professional Services Subcommittee Co-Chair
Marcus Iannozzi, Principal, Message Agency: Professional Services Subcommittee Co-Chair
Laurie Actman, COO, Penn Center for Innovation: Start-up Subcommittee Co-Chair
Chet Riddick, President & CEO, Alpha Enterprise Group: Manufacturing Subcommittee Co-Chair
Anuj Gupta, General Manager: Reading Terminal Market: Small Business Subcommittee Co-Chair
Michael Brown, CEO, Environmental Construction Services: Real Estate Subcommittee Co-Chair

Share this Post