In Allan Domb, Cherelle Parker, Cindy Bass, Council News, Curtis Jones, Jr., Darrell L. Clarke, Derek Green, Featured, Helen Gym, Isaiah Thomas, Katherine Gilmore Richardson, Maria D. Quiñones-Sánchez, Mark Squilla by admin

Like it? Share it!

PHILADELPHIA – City Council reorganized its leadership team today during Council’s regular Meeting, and also announced a series of appointments to chair key committees on Council, a response to vacancies created as Councilmembers have resigned to run for Mayor.

In the first part of Council’s reorganization, members voted to make Councilmember Curtis Jones, Jr. (4th District) the new Majority Leader. Jones was serving as Council’s Whip.

Councilmembers next voted to make Councilmember Mark Squilla (1st District) the Whip of Council, elevating Squilla from the Deputy Whip position.

Councilmembers also voted to make Councilmember Cindy Bass (8th District) the Deputy Whip of Council.

The next part of Council’s reorganization involved the appointment of new Committee chairs, a series of appointments announced by Council President Darrell L. Clarke (5th District) today as well.

Appropriations Committee. The new chair of Appropriations is Councilmember Jones.

Finance Committee. The new chair of Finance is Councilmember Squilla.

Education Committee. The new chair of Education is Councilmember Isaiah Thomas (At Large).

Labor and Civil Service. The new chair of Labor and Civil Service is Councilmember Brian O’Neill (10th District).

Law & Government Committee. The new chair of Law & Government is Councilmember Katherine Gilmore Richardson (At Large).

Licenses & Inspections Committee. The new chair of Licenses & Inspections is Councilmember Mike Driscoll (6th District).

“As I have said all along, City Council has urgent work to do — reducing poverty, preventing gun violence, creating jobs, preserving neighborhoods – every issue confronting our city,” Council President Clarke said. “We understand members resigning to pursue their hopes and plans for higher office. But Council has no intention of slowing down, not for a minute.”

Clarke said the process of appointing members to Council’s various committee assignments was ongoing, and further announcements regarding positions would be forthcoming at a later date.

Clarke also noted that any new Councilmembers elected by the voters in special elections to fill Council’s vacancies on November 8 would receive appointments to various committees as soon as their elections are certified and the new members are sworn in.

The four Councilmembers who resigned their seats recently are former Majority Leader and Law and Government chair Cherelle L. Parker, former Appropriations and Education chair Maria D. Quiñones Sánchez, former Finance chair Derek Green and former Fiscal Stability and Intergovernmental Cooperation chair Allan Domb.

All 17 seats in City Council will be up for election in 2023.

# # #

Print Friendly, PDF & Email