In Cindy Bass, Council News, News by PHL Council

Like it? Share it!

Councilwoman Cindy Bass (8th District) recently announced the creation of a District 8 Trash Task Force—a group of community leaders, elected officials, and activists working towards a solution to the chronic and long-term problem of trash dumping in Philadelphia.

“Unfortunately, illegal dumping has become an epidemic in our neighborhoods, diminishing the quality of life and livability of our city. It creates environmental hazards in our air, stormwater and groundwater,” stated Councilwoman Bass. “The status quo is no longer acceptable. We can and must do better.”

According to data collected from Philly 311, Philadelphians place about 15,000 illegal dumping and 6,500 vacant lot cleanup service requests each year. Among the factors contributing to the problem are inadequate trash collection, construction and commercial dumping, lack of information on the City’s sanitation convenience centers, and the reduction in trash receptacles citywide. The task force will be charged with trash dumping prevention outreach, monitoring and reporting on trash conditions, and working with City agencies and neighborhood groups on trash policies and the development of best practices.

State Senator-elect Sharif Street (PA 3rd District), who serves on the task force, will appear with Councilwoman Bass in an upcoming public service announcement to increase awareness of the City’s sanitation service centers. He will also determine the availability of state funds for trash cleanup among the City’s state routes.

Members of the task force include: Kelly O’Day, Environmental Activist; Sylvia Simms, Director, Parent Power; Joe Tucker, Esq., Tucker Law Group; Majeedah Rashid, Chief Operations Officer, Nicetown CDC; Anna Figueroa, Committee-person, 12th Ward; and Bill Durham, Community Relations Liaison, LaSalle University.


Councilwoman Cindy Bass represents the 8th Council District, which includes Germantown, Mt. Airy, Nicetown, Tioga, Chestnut Hill, portions of Logan and West Oak Lane. She is Chair of Council’s Committee on Parks, Recreation and Cultural Affairs. More information at


Print Friendly, PDF & Email