Administrative building for the School District of Philadelphia

CITY COUNCIL HOLDS HEARING ON STATE OF CITY SCHOOLS, KICKING OFF 2021 LEGISLATIVE CALENDAR

In Council News, Featured by PHL Council

Like it? Share it!

PHILADELPHIA — City Council will hold a hearing today on the state of affairs of the School District of Philadelphia, kicking off its 2021 legislative meeting and hearing calendar.

Today’s Committee of the Whole hearing on the School District will take place remotely using Microsoft Teams. The remote hearing can be viewed live on Xfinity Ch. 64, Fios Ch. 40 or live-streamed at www.PHLCouncil.com/watch. The hearing begins at 10 am.

Today’s hearing on the School District is required under the Educational Supplement of the Home Rule Charter to review the District’s management, operations and finances, and to recommend plans to better coordinate the actions of the District, the Philadelphia Board of Education, the Mayor’s and City Council to benefit and improve public education in the city.

Today’s hearing is also the first public hearing on City Council’s 2021 legislative calendar. Future public hearings will be listed in the Legislative Information Center on the Council web site as they are scheduled.

“The city has many challenges that face us in 2021,” said Council President Darrell L. Clarke (5th District). “Confronting the COVID-19 pandemic, ensuring Philadelphians get the vaccine as it becomes available, re-opening our economy and getting workers back to work. Gun violence and how to prevent it, dismantling institutional racism in our institutions, reducing poverty – all these issues are looming. Council is up to these challenges and will tackle them at every turn.”

The Stated Meeting Schedule for 2021 follows. All Meetings are held on Thursdays and begin at 10 am. Until further notice, all Stated Meetings and public hearings will be held remotely in accordance with public health guidance on indoor gatherings.

Thursday, January 28, 2021 Thursday, September 16, 2021
Thursday, February 4, 2021 Thursday, September 23, 2021
Thursday, February 11, 2021 Thursday, September 30, 2021
Thursday, February 18, 2021 Thursday, October 7, 2021
Thursday, February, 25, 2021 Thursday, October 14, 2021
Thursday, March 4, 2021 Thursday, October 21, 2021
Thursday, March 11, 2021 Thursday, October 28, 2021
Thursday, March 18, 2021 Thursday, November 4, 2021
Thursday, March 25, 2021 Thursday, November 18, 2021
Thursday, April  8, 2021 Thursday, December 2, 2021
Thursday, April 15, 2021 Thursday, December 9, 2021
Thursday, April 22, 2021 Thursday, December 16, 2021
Thursday, April 29, 2021
Thursday, May 6, 2021
Thursday, May 13, 2021
Thursday, May 20, 2021
Thursday, May 27, 2021
Thursday, June 10, 2021
Thursday, June 17, 2021
Thursday, June 24, 2021

Speakers interested in providing public comment at any Council Stated Meeting must call 215-686-3406 by 3 pm. on the Wednesday before the next day’s session and submit their name, a call-back number, and state whether they are for or against a specific bill or resolution on the agenda. Speakers who submit this information on time will be called during the session and invited to the remote meeting.

For more information on public comment, please visit the Stated Meeting Public Comment information page on Council’s web site.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email